Skip to content
Barking and Dagenham Counts — Barking and Dagenham, in numbers.Local help →

Barking and Dagenham, in numbers

Projects

Barking and Dagenham council area. Every figure carries its own date.

The local plans, investments and decisions worth following.

3 selected records checked against official sources. A plan is not a completed project; each record shows the stage its source establishes.

Thames Road

Thames Road neighbourhood plan

Housing, industrial workspace and green space are planned together.

Planning guidance adopted; individual developments still need delivery · evidence dated 2025-05-14

Responsible body: Barking and Dagenham Council

What the source says: The council adopted the design guidance on 14 May 2025. Its vision is for 3,500 homes alongside industry and social facilities; that is a plan, not a completion count.

Next thing to establish: What is the approved cost, including ongoing maintenance?

Progress, funding and source
Cost
Not established by the evidence checked.
Funding
Not established by the evidence checked.
Area covered
Named project location only. No verified current ward impact footprint; no ward-wide effect is inferred.

No verified ward footprint is assigned.

Thames Road Vision and Design Code →

Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.

Questions for the next progress report

  • Which funding is committed, and what remains conditional?
  • Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
  • What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?

Homes need services at the same time →

Keep employment space in the housing plans →

Make room for homes people can afford →

Connect local skills to local opportunities →

Target support where disadvantages overlap →

How to track delivery →

Gascoigne estate, Barking

Greatfields School final building

Classrooms, a library and sports and performance spaces have been added.

Final school building reported completed · source does not state a status date

Responsible body: Barking and Dagenham Council

What the source says: The council reports pupils moved into the final building, with 50 classrooms. The page has no clear publication date; this is a delivered facility, not a claim of a new opening this year.

Next thing to establish: What dated decision or progress report confirms the current stage?

Progress, funding and source
Cost
£23 million for the reported final building, not the whole Gascoigne regeneration.
Funding
Department for Education and Barking and Dagenham Council.
Area covered
Named project location only. No verified current ward impact footprint; no ward-wide effect is inferred.

No verified ward footprint is assigned.

East London school completes £23 million building →

Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.

Questions for the next progress report

  • Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
  • What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?

Make the completed school a neighbourhood asset →

Target support where disadvantages overlap →

How to track delivery →

Mayesbrook Park, Dagenham

Mayes Brook restoration and park

A restored watercourse sits alongside walking, play and sports facilities.

Restored brook and existing public park · source does not state a status date

Responsible body: Barking and Dagenham Council

What the source says: The official park page records the restoration as a climate-adaptation project. It does not quantify homes protected or establish a recent completion date.

Next thing to establish: What dated decision or progress report confirms the current stage?

Progress, funding and source
Cost
Not established by the evidence checked.
Funding
Not established by the evidence checked.
Area covered
Named project location only. No verified current ward impact footprint; no ward-wide effect is inferred.

No verified ward footprint is assigned.

Mayesbrook Park →

Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.

Questions for the next progress report

  • What is the approved cost, including ongoing maintenance?
  • Which funding is committed, and what remains conditional?
  • Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
  • What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?

Maintain the restored brook as the area changes →

Target support where disadvantages overlap →

How to track delivery →