Skip to content
Barking and Dagenham Counts — Barking and Dagenham, in numbers.Local help →

Barking and Dagenham, in numbers

People and living standards

Barking and Dagenham council area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Barking and Dagenham council area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 155,487 in 1991 to 238,295 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Barking and Dagenham council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 157,264 people in 1996; 238,295 people in 2025. 51.5% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Barking and Dagenham council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991155,487
1992156,175
1993156,191
1994156,757
1995157,396
1996157,264
1997158,302
1998160,976
1999162,444
2000163,893
2001165,654
2002166,357
2003166,210
2004165,610
2005166,275
2006167,157
2007169,031
2008172,452
2009177,580
2010182,838
2011187,029
2012191,453
2013196,204
2014201,244
2015206,450
2016211,047
2017214,017
2018216,298
2019218,828
2020219,227
2021218,714
2022221,769
2023227,908
2024234,866
2025238,295
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Barking and Dagenham council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 36,090 people in 1996; 57,831 people in 2025. 60.2% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Barking and Dagenham council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199133,201
199233,867
199334,468
199435,198
199535,781
199636,090
199736,711
199837,588
199937,942
200038,274
200138,368
200238,374
200338,744
200438,820
200539,791
200640,717
200742,103
200843,607
200945,629
201047,164
201148,524
201250,567
201352,449
201453,850
201555,486
201657,176
201757,924
201858,078
201957,981
202057,953
202156,881
202256,808
202357,002
202457,688
202557,831
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Barking and Dagenham council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 95,477 people in 1996; 159,944 people in 2025. 67.5% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Barking and Dagenham council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199195,500
199295,666
199395,323
199495,496
199595,690
199695,477
199796,182
199898,136
199999,674
2000101,220
2001103,231
2002104,427
2003104,522
2004104,543
2005104,863
2006105,469
2007106,578
2008108,891
2009112,268
2010116,171
2011119,166
2012121,426
2013124,298
2014127,970
2015131,638
2016134,475
2017136,802
2018139,091
2019141,749
2020142,198
2021142,697
2022145,474
2023151,293
2024157,051
2025159,944
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Barking and Dagenham council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 25,697 people in 1996; 20,520 people in 2025. 20.1% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Barking and Dagenham council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199126,786
199226,642
199326,400
199426,063
199525,925
199625,697
199725,409
199825,252
199924,828
200024,399
200124,055
200223,556
200322,944
200422,247
200521,621
200620,971
200720,350
200819,954
200919,683
201019,503
201119,339
201219,460
201319,457
201419,424
201519,326
201619,396
201719,291
201819,129
201919,098
202019,076
202119,136
202219,487
202319,613
202420,127
202520,520
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 218,871 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Barking and Dagenham · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh56,58325.9%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African46,80721.4%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups9,3204.3%
White98,27544.9%
Other ethnic group7,8863.6%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 185,911 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Barking and Dagenham · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White108,38658.3%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups7,8784.2%
Asian/Asian British29,59415.9%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British37,14020%
Other ethnic group2,9131.6%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 163,944 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Barking and Dagenham · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White139,66785.2%
Mixed3,0761.9%
Asian/Asian British8,2865.1%
Black/Black British11,4407%
Chinese/Other1,4750.9%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 18.9% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Barking and Dagenham council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £8,517 per person in 1997; £21,066 per person in 2024. 147.3% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Barking and Dagenham council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
19978,517
19988,754
19999,169
20009,570
200110,242
200210,608
200311,250
200411,751
200512,123
200612,485
200713,162
200813,502
200913,614
201013,613
201113,637
201214,329
201314,456
201414,806
201515,275
201615,669
201716,004
201816,822
201917,350
202017,784
202118,317
202219,313
202320,070
202421,066
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Barking and Dagenham council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -19.7% in 1997; -18.9% in 2024. 0.8 percentage points higher.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Barking and Dagenham council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-19.7
1998-19.1
1999-18.9
2000-19.6
2001-17.2
2002-16.2
2003-13.7
2004-13.4
2005-13.8
2006-14.7
2007-14.2
2008-14.3
2009-15
2010-15.7
2011-16.3
2012-15.2
2013-17.5
2014-18.1
2015-19.7
2016-18.6
2017-18.8
2018-17.6
2019-17.7
2020-15.3
2021-16.1
2022-15.9
2023-17.9
2024-18.9
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

58.5%

21 March 2021 · Barking and Dagenham council area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

25.3%

21 March 2021 · Barking and Dagenham council area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

22.7%

21 March 2021 · Barking and Dagenham council area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

4.9%

21 March 2021 · Barking and Dagenham council area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£376,000

July 2026 · Barking and Dagenham council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£1,698

August 2026 · Barking and Dagenham council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.